Blue Syncro Westy – Throttle linkage adjustment: silly me!

I knew when I first installed the Zetec that the throttle linkage needed adjustment as when the gas pedal was on the floor the throttle was not fully open. I thought it was opening around 90% of the way so I didn’t prioritize dealing with this. Well, a couple of days ago I happened to have a helper available so I had him watch the ScanGauge TPS (throttle position sensor) reading while I went back and manually opened the throttle all the way. I was shocked to learn the reading at full throttle was 94 as the highest I could get it to go to with the gas pedal was 45 (at idle it shows 18). So… it seems all this time I was driving around with considerably less than ½ throttle available.

Needless to say I made it a priority to adjust the throttle linkage so I could get full throttle with the gas pedal (just took up the slack at the adjustment point under the front floor, accessed via the spare tire area). I took it for a test drive and wow, what a difference. I am looking forward to seeing how it performs fully loaded on big hills and I will post an update after our next trip.

I’m shaking my head at myself now thinking this is not something I would have left for so long in my younger days (as I was into max. horsepower back then and somehow life didn’t seem so busy).

This entry was posted in Syncro Stuff, Westy Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment